"Improving patient care by promoting excellence in RA practice, education and research"

Election 2020 and news

After our annual board meeting yesterday, we are happy to announce that we have 2 new board members: Maria Sebastian and Jonathan Womack. We also welcome back Ashwani Gupta for a second term, and have a new trainee representative, Dr Toby Ashken.

In other changes, firstly, we say a fond farewell to Dr Morne Wolmarans, possibly the longest serving, and certainly one of our very best board members. He will continue to look after our UK RA interests within ESRA, and we expect to see him at the new improved Covid free ASM next year. We also say goodbye to our trainee rep Jim Parry, who, having gained a substantive post at Stanmore last year, is now replaced by Toby. We thank him for his hard work on the board, and again, will catch up soon at the many meetings and courses up and down the country. Finally, we give great thanks to Tim Moll who was coopted onto council for the last year to organise the ASM in Sheffield 2020. His hard work will not be in vain, however, as we have a special announcement soon about RA-UK 2021.

Secondly, we have a few position changes, Lloyd Turbitt has become our new treasurer, as Alan Macfarlane was unanimously voted our new president elect. He will take up his term of office when Amit Pawa steps down in 2021. Nat Haslam continues as honorary secretary, and we intend to co-opt Simeon West as webmaster/comms (to be ratified at the next AGM).

And finally, in view of our ASM in Sheffield unfortunately being cancelled, we have elected to run our Annual General Meeting virtually. This will be at 7:30 on the evening of 26th May. It will be held as a Zoom meeting (surprise, surprise). Any ordinary member who wishes to join, please send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., and we will send you the secure link.